5:52 PM

Yami Shibai

Posted by Nimfah



 

Alternative Name:   Theater of Darkness
Years of Released: Jul 15, 2013 - Sep 30, 2013
Episodes:
13
Genre:
Horror
Favorite Characters :

My Rating:
PG-16
Grade:
B

Summary:
Akin to TV Tokyo's Folktales from Japan, Yamishibai: Japanese Ghost Stories takes a narrative format to explore the rich occult history from Japan. Moreover, the storytelling techniques in this brand new series will mimic kamishibai—a traditional storytelling technique inspired by the artistic usage of paper figures and scrolls.

Yamishibai is a picture-story style of animation whose motif is surrounded and based off rumors and urban legends throughout the history of Japan.


My review:
I can't even call Yami Shibai an animation for it looks more like an animatic - something that is done before creating an actual animation if you want me to get technical. However, it is worth a try and I did enjoy some of the stories. It's quite unique that's for sure.


Recommended: Horror fans

11:07 AM

Parasyte

Posted by Nimfah




 

Alternative Name:   Parasitic Beasts
Years of Released: October 8, 2014March 25, 2015
Episodes:
24
Genre:
Drama, Horror, Action, Shounen, Sci-fi
Favorite Characters :
Migi
My Rating:
PG-16
Grade:
A+

Summary:
Parasyte centers on a 17-year-old male named Shinichi Izumi, who lives with his mother and father in a quiet neighborhood in Tokyo. One night, worm-like creatures called Parasites appear on Earth, taking over the brains of human hosts by entering through their ears or noses. One Parasite attempts to crawl into Shinichi's ear while he sleeps, but fails as Shinichi is wearing headphones, and enters his body by burrowing into his arm instead.

My review:
The idea of aliens taking over people's bodies and trying taking over the Earth is not new and only the lazy ones haven't seen at least one version of this scenario it Hollywood movies before. What's so different with Parasyte you might wonder? Well, there is no short answer to that question. First and foremost, it's not just action with not plot or idea kind of piece. There is morale of the story, its' own ideology, making you question your life believes and choices. That's what makes is so great in my book. It asks "Who are the monsters really? Us or them?"


Recommended: Everyone

10:36 AM

Harmonie

Posted by Nimfah





 

Alternative Name:   アルモニ
Years of Released: 2014
Minutes:
25
Genre:
Drama, Romantic, Seinen
Favorite Characters :
Natsuno
My Rating:
PG
Grade:
A+

Summary:
Every person has his or her own little world. Among the 34 bustling students of classroom 2-1, there are many such worlds.

Honjou Akio's world—my world—is filled with passionate talk about last night's anime with Yoshida, Watanabe, and other friends. It's a fun, comfortable place... But, I always wonder. Wonder about the world of Makina Juri, smiling and surrounded by gorgeous friends on the other side of the classroom.

One day, I enter her world. But it's not as simple as it sounds.


My review:
Wonderful, touching, memorable short film with a distinct atmosphere and plot twists. I wish there was more works like this one out there.


Recommended: Everyone

8:13 AM

Shiki

Posted by Nimfah




 

Alternative Name:   Corpse Demon
Years of Released: July 8, 2010December 30, 2010
Episodes:
22
Genre:
Supernatural, Horror
Favorite Characters :
Natsuno
My Rating:
PG-16
Grade:
C+

Summary:
The story takes place in a particularly hot summer in the 1990s, in a small quiet Japanese village called Sotoba. A series of mysterious deaths begin to spread in the village, at the same time when a strange family moves into the long-abandoned Kanemasa mansion.

My review:
I had a lot of hope for this anime but in the end I felt disappointed. In fact, I was ever willing to suffer through the terrible art style in order to see a well done horror but alas.


Recommended: Horror lovers

10:31 PM

Detroit Metal City

Posted by Nimfah






 

Alternative Name:   デトロイト・メタル・シティ
Years of Released: August 8, 2008
Episodes:
12
Genre:
Comedy, Music
Favorite Characters :
Soichi
My Rating:
PG-14
Grade:
A+

Summary:
Soichi Negishi is a shy young musician who dreams of a career in pop. Dreams don't pay the bills, so he's ended up as the lead singer and guitarist of a blackened death metal band, "Detroit Metal City."

My review:
I don't really remember how I stumbled upon this master piece but I remember laughing till I had my tears come out. Maybe I was looking for some comedy other than Gintama to lift up my mood, or I saw it on the top comedy anime list on some blog - it doesn't matter. What matters is that Detroit Metal City is a complete gem in its genre/ The is also a pretty good movie addaptation that is worth watching.


Recommended: dark humor

9:49 PM

Death Parade

Posted by Nimfah





 

Alternative Name:   Desu Parēdo
Years of Released:
January 9, 2015March 27, 2015
Episodes:
24
Genre:
Drama, Mystic, Physiological Thriller
Favorite Characters :
Desim, Chiyuki
My Rating:
PG-12
Grade:
A

Summary:
Whenever two people on Earth die at the same time, they are sent to one of many mysterious bars run by bartenders serving as arbiters. There, they must participate in Death Games with their lives on the line, the results of which reveal what secrets led them to their situation and what their fate will be afterwards, with the arbiters judging if their souls will either be sent for reincarnation or banished into the void.

My review:
I really got into this one, that's for sure. Intriguing title, hypnotizing opening, unexpected plot development - all that creates one solid fondation for the future hours in front of the screen spent in anticipation and excitement. Just the genre phycological thriller is usially enough for me to get my interest. I will gladly re watch Death Parade in the near future the way I do with the small list of anime that were able to touch just the right strings of my soul.


Recommended: For everyone

9:16 PM

The Seven Deadly Sins

Posted by Nimfah






 

Alternative Name:  Nanatsu no Taizai
Years of Released:
October 5, 2014March 29, 2015
Episodes:
24
Genre: 
Action, Advanture, Fantasy, Shounen
Favorite Characters :
Meliodas, Gilthunder
My Rating:
PG-12
Grade:
A-

Summary:
The Seven Deadly Sins were once an active group of knights in the region of Britannia, who disbanded after they supposedly plotted to overthrow the Liones Kingdom. Their supposed defeat came at the hands of the Holy Knights, but rumors continued to persist that they were still alive. Ten years later, the Holy Knights staged a coup d'état and captured the king, becoming the new, tyrannical rulers of the kingdom. The third princess, Elizabeth, then starts out on a journey to find the Seven Deadly Sins and enlist their help in taking back the kingdom.

My review:
One solid, action packed animation piece. I didn't expect to get into is so much after looking at the slightly childish drawing style and silly acting characters, but it turned out better than I anticipated. If it wasn't for all the fan service consisted of showing boobs and butts, the show could've being a much higher class.


Recommended: For shounen lovers

8:58 PM

Yamada-kun and the Seven Witches

Posted by Nimfah




 

Alternative Name:  Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo
Years of Released:
  April 12, 2015June 28, 2015
Episodes:
12
Genre: 
Romance, Comedy, Supernatural,
Favorite Characters :
Yamada
My Rating:
PG-12
Grade:
B+

Summary:
Ryū Yamada is known as a delinquent in his high school; he has been bored of classes after one year of attending school. One day, he accidentally falls from a flight of stairs onto Urara Shiraishi, the ace student of the school. Yamada wakes up to find that he has swapped bodies with her..

My review:
It was a nice, lighthearted anime. I enjoyed watching it. There is nothing much more I can tell about it rather than it was nice, nothing special though.


Recommended: For shoujo lovers

1:38 PM

Zetsuen No Tempest

Posted by Nimfah





 

Alternative Name:  Blast Of Tempest
Years of Released:
  October 5, 2012March 29, 2013
Episodes:
24
Genre:
Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Action, Shounen
Favorite Characters :
Mahiro
My Rating:
PG-14
Grade:
A

Summary:
The story revolves around Mahiro Fuwa, a teenager whose sister was mysteriously murdered one year before, and his friend Yoshino Takigawa. Mahiro is contacted by Hakaze Kusaribe, the leader of the Kusaribe clan who was left stranded on an unknown deserted island by her followers, and agrees to help Hakaze in exchange for her help to find out the culprit for the death of his family. Upon learning of his friend's intentions, Yoshino joins him on his quest to stand against the Kusaribe clan who intends to awaken the "Tree of Exodus" whose power can bring ruin to the entire world.

My review:
A wild collision of two Sharspear's works - Hamlet and Tempest - with a Japanese animation twist on it. There is a lot going on in the show, the story progressing quickly and goes a long way since the beginning. The is magic, friendship, cult, pain, desperation, and love in it. I loved this show so much, especially the time travel part, although I think it could have been much and much better it they would just choose the target audience more clearly and make the anime for a specific age group. It touches very serious and dark themes but from time to time characters act out of character, too immature and animeish. In short, if it wasn't for fan service, it would be a much more solid show.


Recommend: For everyone

1:05 PM

Steins;Gate

Posted by Nimfah



 

Alternative Name:  シュタインズ・ゲート
Years of Released:
  April 6, 2011September 14, 2011
Episodes:
24
Genre:
Sci-Fi, Mystery, Romance,
Favorite Characters :
Okabe
My Rating:
PG-14
Grade:
A+

Summary:
Steins;Gate takes place in the Akihabara district of Tokyo. On July 28, 2010, Rintarō Okabe and his friend Mayuri Shiina head towards the Radio Kaikan building for a conference, where Rintarō finds a girl named Kurisu Makise lying in a pool of blood. As Rintarō sends a text message about the incident to his friend, Itaru "Daru" Hashida, he experiences a strange phenomenon and the people around him disappear, with no-one else noticing anything had changed. After later running into Kurisu, who is strangely alive and well, and discovering the message he had sent to Itaru had arrived a week before he sent it, Rintarō soon deduces that the 'Mobile Microwave' he and his friends had been developing is, in fact, a time machine capable of sending text messages to the past

My review:
It has been awhile since I have stumbled upon something as worthy as Stein;Gate. To tell the truth, I have almost given up on the show (which ironacaly had happened with Code Geass as well) but I'm glad I haven't committed such a crime. The show starts slowly. The first ten or so episodes are just setting everything up for second half of the show, which is much much move intence and the events are happening at a lightning speed, just barely letting your brain to catch up and analyze what is going on.
 What's more, some of the names, facts, and theories were actually taken from real live. Just try searching John Titor and you'll see what I mean.
The characters, who seem cliche at first, are shining bright as you look at each of them at a new engle at each parallel world. It gets very emotional by the end of the story.
All these facts give an amazing depth that everyone who likes a good story can appreciate - anime fan or not.


Recommend: For everyone